Apple

How to use Guided Access on iOS

Guided Access is a feature which was introduced in iOS 6. Once the mode is activated it prevents the user of the iPad leaving that app. You can also configure Guided Access to:

  • Temporarily restrict your iOS device to a single app
  • Disable areas of the screen that aren’t relevant to a task, or areas where an accidental gesture might cause a distraction
  • Disable the hardware buttons

To set-up Guided Access:

Head to the Settings app, then navigate to General > Accessibility > Guided Access. From there, here’s what you can do:

  • Turn Guided Access on or off
  • Set a passcode that controls the use of Guided Access and prevents someone from leaving an active session
  • Set whether the device can go to sleep during a session

The feature is extremely useful in a number of cases such as when iPads are being used at Kiosks – which are required to remain in one app, or when your child decides they’re going to stray from that specific app and go into another one.

To start a Guided Access session:

  1. Open the app you want to use.
  2. Triple-click the Home button.
  3. Adjust settings for the session, and then tap Start.

You can use Guided Access to turn off app controls, parts of the screen, and motion sensing:

To disable app controls and areas of the app screen:

  1. Circle any part of the screen you want to disable.
  2. Use the handles to adjust the area.
  3. To ignore all screen touches, turn off Touch.

If you want to keep your iOS device from switching from portrait to landscape or from responding to any other motions, turn off Motion.

To end a Guided Access session:

If you’re using Touch ID on your iOS device, you can use it to end a Guided Access session. First, go to Settings > General > Accessibility > Guided Access > Passcode Settings and turn on Touch ID. Now, when you’re using Guided Access, you can end the session by following these steps:

  1. Press the Home button once.
  2. Use Touch ID.

If you’re not using Touch ID on your device, follow these steps to end a Guided Access session:

  1. Triple-click the Home button.
  2. Enter the Guided Access passcode.

Information Source: Apple Support

 

Article written by:

Kain Monty is Appleosophy’s Executive Editor. He manages a team of highly-skilled writers and their day-to-day operations. Kain has assisted Appleosophy with many other projects.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of