You can now obtain a copy of your data, that Apple holds about you

Apple today has launched a new web-page for those living in the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. This new site is to ensure that Apple complies with the General Data Protection Regulations coming into place this Friday (May 25th, 2018).

Although the new site is only available in few countries, Apple has plans to make the website available to all countries later this year. On that page, you will find shortcuts to edit your information and deactivating or deleting your account.

To obtain a copy of your data:

Go to privacy.apple.com and Log-in with your Apple ID. Then, click the Get started link under the ‘Obtain a copy of your data’ heading. You can then check the boxes of all the data you want to download or press the ‘Select All’ button to get all of your data.

iCloud Photos, Mail and Drive have been separated into another heading as that data may be exceptionally large. Once, you’re happy with all the data you want to receive selected then click ‘Continue’. Your data can take up to a week to prepare the files for download. The files will be automatically deleted after 2 weeks.

You will then be prompted to select a preferred maximum file size. With 25 GB being the maximum. Apple will divide the data into chunks, giving you the opportunity to view your data in a range of standard-compatible formats.

Data you can download:

You can download your data in the following categories:

  • App Store, iTunes Store, iBooks Store and Apple Music activity
  • Apple ID account and device information
  • Apple Online Store and Retail Store activity
  • AppleCare support history, repair requests and more
  • Game Center activity
  • iCloud Bookmarks and Reading List
  • iCloud Calendars and Reminders
  • iCloud Contacts
  • iCloud Notes
  • Maps Report an Issue
  • Marketing subscriptions, downloads and other activity
  • iCloud Drive files and documents
  • iCloud Mail
  • iCloud Photos
  • Other data

Deactivation:

Deactivation means that Apple will stop processing data relating to your Apple ID as a consequence you will not be able to access purchases from iBooks, iTunes or the App Store and you will not be able to access iCloud data or use iCloud services like FaceTime or iMessage. As a security measure, Apple will be verifying all requests to prevent abuse. With this method, you can reactive your account at any time via the same portal.

Deletion:

Permanent Deletions is pretty much self-explanatory. Taking things up to the next level by asking Apple to remove all the data they have stored on you, forever! This process as you can probably imagine is not reversible.

Appleosophy’s Privacy Policy:

Appleosophy now has a fully-compliant General Data Protection Regulations privacy policy which you can find on the Privacy Policy page of our website. We kindly ask you to read this policy.